Because

 After reading Homage to Calvin Spotswood by Kate Daniels

Because I couldn’t be the daughter they wanted

The one they should have had

The one that liked the smell of collards cooking,

Fatback frying

The sound of billiard balls banging

Because I liked to read, to pray, to ponder

Because I liked to play in my good clothes

Because of was tired of having people drop me off at the corner so they wouldn’t see where I lived

Because I was tired of watching my mama slowly dying over her ironing board

Because my daddy never talked to me

When he almost asked me

I ran away with him.

1 Comment

Filed under Poetry

One response to “Because

  1. Caitlin

    Hi Brenda – I’m just back from vacation and intended to quickly check email but instead got stuck in the computer vortex. Somehow it led me to Eunice’s website and your blog and this lovely entry that I remember so distinctly from Eunice’s class. Reading it again took me straight back to Skidmore and the first hour of each morning that I got to spend in her class with you. Thanks for transporting me, and thanks for sharing your beautiful poem. xo – Caitlin

Leave a Reply

