Poetry Thursday

Moons


One summer I drive across Texas forever.
Wheels spinning.
Lights flashing.
Cows mooing.
I don’t stop. Clouds fall from the sky. Oil wells spill out onto a too brown landscape making it look like a sloppily iced sheet cake.
The kind my mother used to bake.
I drive on.
The highway rises up to meet the cloudless sky. I folllow it.
Better than driving in circles.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       

***         

The Black Dog



The black dog sleeps in the cradle while the baby howls.
“My dear, did you notice?
The mantle clock stopped at four.”
Breathe now.
Your essence clouds the mirror of my soul,
while this finger traces the cat’s cradle of your brow.
3 Comments

Filed under Breadcrumbs, Poetry

3 responses to “Poetry Thursday

  1. Sam

    ‘Moons’ is a solid poem, but I am absolutely floored by ‘The Black Dog’. That is an incredible poem, rich in metaphor and ambiguity. I see hints of wolf fables, mythology, nursery rhymes, mingling in a small masterpiece. Wonderful work.

    • brendamantz

      Sam – Thank you so much. The Black Dog was almost a “throw away” poem. I just picked a bunch of words and decided to make a poem. Hope you still like it. Maybe I should have just stopped with “thank you”.

  2. Sam

    I’ve done this experimentally myself as well – taken words that “felt” like a poem and put them together. Though I don`t do it anymore. The key is that if what comes out hangs well together, it`s because you`ve already developed a poetic intuition that`s serving you well. If not, it would have ended up as doggerel.

Leave a Reply

